top of page
Search

Growing Up On Racism

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Supported by: Allison MacKenzie

 
 

We’ve created a guide to help simplify and explain different terms that pertain to equity, diversity, and inclusion. To access it click here.


Imagine growing up your whole life internalizing your culture and who you are. My parents moved to Canada to better their lives, they left everything they had and everyone they knew. They came here so my brother and I could have a chance at a beautiful life and a brighter future. I grew up in a small town in Saskatchewan, Canada, one of those towns where you can drive to the other side in about ten minutes. Everyone knew who you were, who your parents were, who your grandparents were. We were practically the only Chinese family in our town and everyone knew us. I lacked a lot of confidence growing up. I always wanted to have lighter hair and blue eyes, I wanted to be tall and dress how the other girls did. I hated looking different, I wanted to be just like them growing up. Having no other girl who looked like me was detrimental to my mental health growing up.


I remember a specific day in grade two when I was playing on the playground and talking to a friend. While I was talking to her I accidentally switched from English to Cantonese and I stopped myself mid-way to apologize. I remember feeling so embarrassed and scared that she would make fun of me. I made myself a promise that day to never speak my native language to anyone besides my family. I was seven years old when I made that promise. When I was 11, my family and I went to Hong Kong and visited my dad’s hometown. Barely being able to communicate with my aunties and grandma was the realization of how much I had pushed away my native language. All of that because I was scared of what people would have said about me. I couldn’t help but wonder how different my life would’ve been if I grew up in a diverse town and had Chinese friends who I could relate to.


I never brought my parent’s home-cooked food with me for lunch. Instead, I would ask for something my white friends would eat, like a sandwich or chicken nuggets. I was scared that my classmates would make fun of what I was eating or what it smelt like. I also never used chopsticks, I always stuck to a fork. I could tell that my mom was frustrated but she understood. She would let me pick out whatever snacks I wanted in hopes it would make me feel better about my lunches.


Now I am 20 years old and living my best life in Toronto, Ontario. Moving was the best decision I have ever made. Being exposed to Chinese culture and simply hearing my own native language has never felt more freeing than it has now. It honestly makes me want to cry knowing that I can surround myself with people who look like me and understand how I feel. Being able to truly be myself and love every bit of it has been the greatest feeling in the world.

 
 

I grew up my whole life dealing with racism. Studies show that it is still a very prevalent issue in our world.

 

Indeed, a new study, Race Relations In Canada in 2019, conducted by Environics Institute For Survey Research, has found that one in five Canadians experience discrimination regularly or from time to time. Of those who experience racism, nearly 40 percent said those incidents occur “on the street"; an equal number said they experience racial discrimination at work” (Gollom, 2019).

 

Since learning how to deal with these remarks, I am able to stand up for my rights in my future workplaces. It is as simple as building a diverse workplace for people of colour to feel accepted and comfortable. It is important to have an inclusive and loving environment that acknowledges the differences between races and how they may see the world.


There are many wonderful ways that you can foster cultural diversity and honour the differences that make your workforce unique.


Inc.com columnist, Maria Haggerty, suggests creating a cultural celebration calendar alongside other annual planning. Make sure that each employee’s holidays, festivals, and observances are honoured. Increase engagement by inviting them to have a say in how the event is celebrated. A bonus the writer includes is that by knowing these celebratory dates, you may be more prepared for requested days off. Another idea Haggerty shared was to create your own inclusivity events: invite everyone to bring treats or food special to them, and share them in the lunchroom. An all inclusive cultural potluck! I would have loved a space where I felt proud of what I brought for lunch instead of feeling uncomfortable. I feel it is important to acknowledge cultural differences like food. Instead of saying it “smells weird” or “I would never eat that”, you can simply ask what it is and not put judgement behind your question. I also feel it is valuable to try new things even if it is out of your comfort zone. What's the worst that can happen? If you don't like it, then you will know for the future and if you do, then you found something you like. If anything, I think I have learned from my past experiences and now I appreciate the food my mom used to make for me so much more.


By demonstrating acceptance, pride, and curiosity, management has a huge impact on the celebration and inclusion of racial diversity in their workplace. What does your workplace do to promote inclusivity and celebrate the diversity of their workforce?




You're Invited to Our Webinar!


Check out the video below from the EDIfice team about our upcoming webinar:


Click here to register for our webinar.

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page